New laptop or how to teach tech to anyone? Part 1

by કાર્તિક

* So, we got new laptop last week.

The entire plan was to introduce my wife into ‘tech world’ or atleast in ‘Debian’ and/or ‘OpenSouce’ world. I visited home for one of this and other personal reason(s) [Expect next post on this!]. My wife reported her first bug (installation-report, with help from me) which was closed by mighty bubulle! I handed over couple of freely available Python books and we started with codecademy‘s Python track. So far, things are good, but being really non-tech person, I’m currently working as ‘support system’ for her.

I’ve used KDE as desktop. Machine runs on latest kernel from experimental due to issues with hardware mentioned here. I was not able to explain IRC in much depth, so we’re using non-free methods like Google Talk for communicating and reporting.

Wish us luck! :) I’ll report Part 2 when things will be enough to report the progress.

